Bangkok – What to Do & Eat

Bangkok is undoubtedly the most well-known city in Thailand rivaled only with the famous southern islands of Ko Pi Pi and Ko Pha Ngan. It’s a sprawling metropolis where crossing the street takes a little bit of bravery just to cross the streets that are full of tuk-tuks, mopeds touting 3 or 4 people (including a baby!) and aggressive taxi drivers. The city is massive and while there are some historic landmarks that are a must-see, I recommend only spending 2 days in the city,  especially for those with less time to spare

WHAT TO SEE – Historical Landmarks

The Grand Palace
You definitely want a few hours to walk around here and I recommend going as early as possible since it gets busy! Make sure to dress appropriately (no shorts, wear a skirt or pants that cover your knees and a shirt that covers your shoulders).


Wat Po – Temple of the Reclining Buddha



You definitely want a few hours to walk around here and I recommend going as early as possible since it gets busy. Make sure to dress appropriately (no shorts, wear a skirt or pants that cover your knees and a shirt that covers your shoulders) and bring a few coins for the “prayer bowls”


WHAT TO DO – Markets & Neighborhoods

Chatuchak Market
http://www.bangkok.com/shopping-market/popular-markets.htm


This was one of my favorite markets that I went clothes shopping at during my stay. I still wear the dresses and silk scarves that I bought there. Be prepared to bargain as they are more used to seeing tourists.

 Khaosan Road

This road is very popular with backpackers and tourists and contains a lot of fun bars and restaurants (both during the day and into the late night!). There are a lot of good restaurants and the peddles grilling insects (like my photo above) if you dare. I also was able to easily do all of my tourism planning around here, grab cash, get visas to other countries, shop, etc. Be CAREFUL at night and please, please watch your drink!!! There are prowlers on this street who will take advantage of you when you’re not looking, especially if you are a girl!


WHAT TO EAT – Restaurants & Bars

Siam Kempinski Hotel
https://www.kempinski.com/en/bangkok/siam-hotel/
Beautiful hotel, good place to get all fancy-pants and grab a drink


McDonalds

I’m not kidding. McDonalds adjusts their menu to match the local cuisine of each country it’s in. The chicken and rice dish was actually delicious! Sweet and sour on the side? Why not.

About Kailee Crawford

I'm an Oregon-born travel addict living in New York making the most of my vacation days. I started this travel blog to keep track of my bucket list and it's morphed into a journal of my adventures and recommendations for things to see, do, eat and drink. My hope is that I can help other travelers find their way. I want to try everything once and to live a life without regrets or missed opportunities. I call my philosophy on life the "the death bed philosophy" - I want to be laying in my death bed reflecting on all of the things I've done and seen in this world, not the things I wished I had done. It's not meant to be morbid, just a reminder to take risks, go out of your comfort zone and live life to the fullest. ♫♫♫♫♫ "You were only waiting for this moment to be free" --- "Blackbird" by The Beatles This quote is undoubtedly my favorite quote because it's a reminder of the infinite opportunities available to us. That in each moment there is an opportunity to find true happiness, and a sense of freedom when you're doing what you love. Freedom to explore, to create, to improve oneself, and to find fulfillment even during the 9 to 5 grind. ♫♫♫♫♫ I'm an incredibly pensive person with a wide variety of interests. In addition to traveling, my guilty pleasures include wine, food, music, art, languages and history. I grew up a nerd, watching The History Channel and reading The Lord of the Rings with my Dad. I'm driven by my pursuit of knowledge and growth and most passionate when I'm able to be creative. ♫♫♫♫♫
Gallery | This entry was posted in Bangkok, Bangkok 101, Crossing Off My Bucket List. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bangkok – What to Do & Eat

  1. Pingback: Thailand 101: General Advice & Places to Visit | MomentToBeFree

Leave a Reply

