Chiang Mai 101

Let me start off by saying that Chiang Mai is my favorite city in Thailand! It’s way more laid back than Bangkok (with less people) and it’s proximity to the jungle and various nature reserves (elephants and TIGERS!) mean this is the best place for eco-tourism.

THINGS TO DO

Baanchang Elephant Park
http://www.baanchangelephantpark.com/
I went here to hangout with the elephants, feed them sugar cane and give them a bath. You will also get to ride on them too but it will be “bareback” without a saddle or anything because they are very adamant about keeping the experience as natural as possible.
546617_3115746700088_1664321139_n

Tiger Kingdom (Locations in Chiang Mai & Phuket)
http://www.tigerkingdom.com/
One of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had. I did the “package” where you could enter all of the tiger cages (they had them organized by size) and there were just groups of tigers walking around, playing in the water, napping etc. I want to note that these tigers are NOT drugged, they are very much awake! You just need to make sure not to touch them above the shoulders.
532790_3117125654561_1065572265_n
More photos from the day: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.3117059892917.2122782.1457070059&type=1&l=ea29953f69

Asia Scenic Thai Cooking Class
http://www.asiascenic.com/
One of my favorite cooking classes I’ve ever done. It’s a family business run by 2 sisters, and the day starts off by going to the market, learning what the different ingredients are and how to tell the difference between the Thai version of veggies versus what most of us are familiar with. Then, we all learned how to make an appetizer (I chose Tom Yum soup), a main course (I chose pad thai) a Thai curry dish and a dessert. Make sure you go HUNGRY, it was so much food!
403500_3123365530554_662692719_n579276_3123354130269_1479553210_n

Zip-Lining at Flight of the Gibbon
https://www.treetopasia.com/
This was an amazing way to see the rain forest in Chiang Mai. Located in the beautiful eco-mountain village of Mae Kampong, this specific course is S.E. Asia’s Longest Single Zipline and Asia’s highest zipline.

  • Approx. 3h of ziplining using a combination of abseiling, sky bridges and forest walks suspended high up above the valley floor
  • Transportation to and from your hotel in air-conditioned vans
  • Lunch is included (consisting of a local style lunch with locally farmed coffee)

544689_3123327169595_1152482402_n562371_3123316009316_2032346823_n

Walking Markets
Both of these markets have really interesting art and jewelry for sale and are meant more for locals as well.

  • Sunday Market – Starting at the Tha Pae Gate along Ratchadamonoen Road (through the middle of old town) this market has a lot of really interesting art and jewelry for sale and are meant more for locals as well.
  • Saturday Evening Market – Located near the Chiang Mai Gate along Wualai Street, I never got to go to this one, but I’ve read it’s a good place to shop for jewelry since it’s located in the traditional silversmith quarter.

Chiang Mai Night Market
The Chiang Mai Night Market is one of the cheapest places for tourists to shop in Thailand, owing to its close proximity to the source of products and the lower cost of living in Chiang Mai. It is situated along a three-block stretch of Chan Klan Road in the heart of the city, and within walking distance of most hotels.

Chaing Mai Night Bazaar
At the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar you can pick up everything from antiques to fake Rolex watches, or purchase different items made from colourful silk. I know a lot of people who came to Thailand and got a custom-tailored suit because of how high quality it was!

Chiang Mai Night Market
The Chiang Mai Night Market is one of the cheapest places for tourists to shop in Thailand, owing to its close proximity to the source of products and the lower cost of living in Chiang Mai. It is situated along a three-block stretch of Chan Klan Road in the heart of the city, and within walking distance of most hotels.

WHERE TO DRINK

Spotlight A Gogo Bar
47, Kotchasarn Rd
Mueang Chiang Mai District, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
– This is a cheap bar that’s very popular with backpackers

About Kailee Crawford

I'm an Oregon-born travel addict living in New York making the most of my vacation days. I started this travel blog to keep track of my bucket list and it's morphed into a journal of my adventures and recommendations for things to see, do, eat and drink. My hope is that I can help other travelers find their way. I want to try everything once and to live a life without regrets or missed opportunities. I call my philosophy on life the "the death bed philosophy" - I want to be laying in my death bed reflecting on all of the things I've done and seen in this world, not the things I wished I had done. It's not meant to be morbid, just a reminder to take risks, go out of your comfort zone and live life to the fullest. ♫♫♫♫♫ "You were only waiting for this moment to be free" --- "Blackbird" by The Beatles This quote is undoubtedly my favorite quote because it's a reminder of the infinite opportunities available to us. That in each moment there is an opportunity to find true happiness, and a sense of freedom when you're doing what you love. Freedom to explore, to create, to improve oneself, and to find fulfillment even during the 9 to 5 grind. ♫♫♫♫♫ I'm an incredibly pensive person with a wide variety of interests. In addition to traveling, my guilty pleasures include wine, food, music, art, languages and history. I grew up a nerd, watching The History Channel and reading The Lord of the Rings with my Dad. I'm driven by my pursuit of knowledge and growth and most passionate when I'm able to be creative. ♫♫♫♫♫
Gallery | This entry was posted in Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 101, Places I've been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

